OFA Officers


Greg Bendixson ('02, ND)

Greg and Carmen Bendixson farm in the northwest corner of North Dakota and are members of the OFA class of 2002.  They manage a family farm growing durum wheat, field peas, and canola for cash crops along with a cow-calf operation.  Their farm has been a no-till operation since 2002 and recently received the county soil conservation award.  They have three sons, Derek, Ryan, and Kent; all three live on farmsteads nearby and are involved in the farming operation. Greg is currently serving as chairman of the county zoning board, served as chairman of the county Agriculture Improvement Committee, as well as serving as church treasurer, while Carmen has served on the county 4-H board.

Vice President

Andrew Kimmel ('07, PA)

Andrew and Erin Kimmel farm 1,600 acres of corn and soybeans and a few acres of small grains and hay. They also have a feedlot and finish about 350 steers a year in western Pennsylvania. Their two children, Ben and Emily, are young adults. Andrew and Erin farm with his parents implementing no-till practices and installing many conservation practices. Andrew serves on the Armstrong County Conservation District board, The Bedford Farm Bureau Co-op Board of directors, and the Pennsylvania Corn Growers Association. Andrew and Erin serve as deacons in their church; Erin is also very involved with the children’s program.


Don Hartman ('06, NM)

Don and Cheryl Hartman, along with their son Matthew and his wife Megan, farm 500 acres of vegetables and small grains in southern New Mexico. Matthew and Megan returned to the farm in 2014, Matthew with a degree in agronomy and Megan with an Agricultural Business degree. This area in New Mexico is a high desert and produces some of the best tasting green chile and onions in the nation. All of their farms are irrigated by sub-surface drip irrigation. Don is currently president of Luna County Farm and Livestock Bureau and is the current treasurer of Deming Soil and Water Conservation District. Don and Cheryl are both actively involved in 4-H and the Southwestern New Mexico State Fair.  Don and Cheryl were National OYF winners in 2006.


© 2020 Outstanding Farmers of America

  • w-facebook